Medaljen for Udmærket Lufttjeneste
The Distinguished Flying Medal

Official abbreviation: M.f.u.L.

Instituted May 30th 1962 by King Frederik 9th.

Awarded to pilots and crewmembers who, over a longer period of time have been an excellent role model for others, or for exceptional rescues of persons or materiel.

Other information: As of 2011 there are approximately 90 living recipients of the medal.
Unlike the other defense medals that get a silver or gold oak leaf device for subsequent awards, a clasp/bar is added with the insignia of the armed service branch of the recipient.

Obverse. Image courtesy of Forsvaret.

Opdateret d. 11.9.2012