The Order of the Elephant

Official abbreviation: R.E.

Instituted circa 1457

Awarded to the Danish Royal Family, Heads of state and other distinguished individuals.
Awarded to princes and princesses of Denmark when they turn 18.

Other information: The order is almost never awarded to commoners. The only currently living Knight who is not a head of state or a royal, is HE Mærsk Mc-Kinney Møller, Former CEO of A. P. Moller-Maersk Group, former Member of the board of IBM and the richest man in Denmark with a personal wealth of 7 Billion DKK (1,200,000,000.00 USD)
Amongst other notable Knights are: astronomer Tycho Brahe, Niels Bohr, Sir Winston Churchill and Dwight D. Eisenhower.
When awarded the Order of the Elephant the recipient becomes Knight of the Order of the Elephant and gets the honorary title of Excellency (His/Her Excellency)

Design: The Order of the Elephant consists of a sash to be worn over the shoulder, a necklace and a breaststar.
The necklace is made from gold and is only worn on New Years eve or on the birthday of the reigning monarch.
The sash is about 10 CM wide and is worn over the left shoulder.
The star is worn on the left side of the breast.
The chain is only worn once a year during the annual newyears reception at the Royal Castle.

Sash and breaststar.

Official drawing of the necklace. Circa 1893.

Newer breaststar.

Computer animation of the necklace.

Opdateret d. 15.1.2013